Overview Of NBA Championship Winners

Written by Sports Portal USA
Share This Post!
A brief history of NBA Finals and past NBA champions
The National Basketball Association is the world`s premier men`s professional basketball league. It consists of 30 franchised member cubs and one of the top four major sports leagues in North America. The existing 30 member clubs were added gradually to the NBA umbrella as its popularity continued to soar since its inception in 1949. Major players such as Magic Johnson of the LA Lakers and Larry Bird of the Boston Celtics, among other past NBA champions, played a major role in popularizing the sport from the 1979 season, which led to the expansion of the franchise and the addition of new teams.

The NBA created a new trophy design for the 1977 season, which was to be given permanently to the winning team. In 1984, the Larry O`brien trophy, as it was named in 1984, was taken home by the Celtics. The 1980s saw the addition of teams such as Miami Heat, Orlando Magic, Charlotte Hornets and Minnesota Timberwolves.

The NBA All Finals are played in a best-of-seven format where there is a contest between the Eastern Conference and the Western Conference. Since the Chicago Bulls broke up their championship roaster in 1998, the Western Conference has dominated the championships with teams such as the LA Lakers and San Antonio Spurs winning the title in nine of fourteen years. The Spurs won their first championship in 1999 with the help of Tim Duncan and David Robinson, but the Lakers won the following three seasons consecutively with the help of Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O`Neil.

The NBA finals in 2006 featured two major franchises: the Miami Heat, which featured Dwayne Wade and Shaquille O`Neil on loan from the Lakers facing off against the Dallas Mavericks. Miami Heat won the series in 6 after they lost the first two games. In 2007, the Spurs again continued their series dominance with a four-game sweep against the Cleveland Cavaliers, and 2008 saw a rematch of the high profile league rivalry between the Lakers and the Boston Celtics. The Celtics prevailed and got their 17th championship.

The two teams continued their rivalry when they met again for the 2010 NBA Finals. The Lakers won the title in game 7, 83-79. The Lakers have won the NBA championship 16 times, the Bulls 6 times and the Heat, the current holders, have won it 3 times.

Related Articles

A Brief History Of The NHL Stanley Cup
A brief history, summary, and some interesting facts about the NHL Stanley Cup
Intriguing Facts Of The NFL And The Super Bowl
One of the most popular sports in the United States is football and one of the most well-known organizations of professional sports is the National Football League
A Brief History Of The MLB World Series
Each year, the two best baseball teams in the two MLB leagues (American and National) compete in a best-of-seven championship series known as the World Series
Cold Weather NFL Super Bowl: Finally!
Who says you cannot have the Super Bowl in a cold weather climate? 2014 marks the return of what was once a NFL mainstay: Football in the elements.
Is the Heisman Trophy Still Relevant?
With an esteemed history dating back to 1935, the Heisman Trophy has represented everything that is great in college football. Is that still true?

"Overview Of NBA Championship Winners" User Comments

No comments posted yet.
What are your comments on this article?

tote sports betting online